First Year Tally – Mishy

She’s been seen wandering around this blog. She started by taking part in the Drabble Challenge and recently began commenting on Killing Time OST. By now, she’s part of the family of loyal reader whom I’ve gotten to know more and appreciate for their unique take on life and writing.
And today, all of you can learn a bit more about Mishy and her story for the First Year Tally celebration.

I will start by stating that I’m a partially~technologically~challenged~writer~in~the~making (prefer to use that instead of “aspiring writer” , which is how lots of unpublished writers refer to themselves) . The “technologically~challenged” part is not an excuse , it’s simply a fact of life ~ but that’s an entirely separate story .

So , what is my story all about ? Where do I begin ?
Words … words … words … for me , it’s all about words ! I simply LOVE words . I’ve always had a “thing” for words . And a thing for writing . As an avid reader (started reading at the tender age of five-and-a-half ) , I would read non-stop . Whenever I went MIA , you would know exactly where to locate me , sitting quietly in a hidden corner , head immersed in a novel !  As I entered into my early teens , it actually became worse , rivalled only by the demands of the high school work load .
I love the written word in all its many and varied forms : stories , poems , quotes , haikus , slogans , adverts , reports , drabbles (new one for me , though …) I could go on and on … .I’ve always felt comfortable around words . Always felt this connection , sense of knowing and contentment .
I simply love the many facets of the written word : the ebb and flow … the push and pull … the literal and figurative … evocative and provocative … clarity and ambiguity … foreign and familiar … once again , I could go on and on … but back to the topic.
Words have a life of their own ! Words can elevate you to dizzy heights and then drop you to the depths of despair . Such is the power of words .

As my reading habits continued , my relationship with actual writing started off at a slower pace . In high school , I wrote the usual poetry , stories , songs that lots of high-schooler-wannabe-writers indulge in .
My true fictional debut , has been the weekly drabble challenge , which I thoroughly enjoy .I really look forward to this weekly fix , courtesy Aheila … merci beacoup ma’mselle !
What happened was , I decided that enough is enough ! I had to start structured writing , in some form . I stumbled upon the drabble challenge and voila !!! That was it !! I was HOOKED !
So , with my “literary chronometer” ticking furiously and feverishly for some time now , and in an effort to satisfy my “literary aspirations” and explore my “untapped literary potential” (whatever that may be) , I decided to start a blog .
I’ve only been blogging from September 2010 , so I am clearly a newbie to all this blogosphere/ cyberspace-thingiemajigg.

With regards to the 3 questions :
1 . At what point did you begin actively working on becoming an author ?
I would have to say that it happened when I started the blog , as well as the drabble writing challenges . It served to structure my writing more and provide more direction .

2 . Where did you stand about one year after that moment ?
3 . How much had you accomplished ?
Well , since it has been only 4 months since I started blogging , that means I am talking about a 4-month time frame in which I have done the following :
~~ started blog (roughly 32 posts written , mainly non-fiction ; and 8 drabbles)
~~ at present , re-vamping blog and possibly changing over to wordpress
~~ joined Absolute Write in an effort to make contact with like-minded people and improve writing skills
~~ comment on other blogs in an effort to make contact with like-minded people and improve writing skills (have met wonderful , helpful writers who have really inspired me , thanks guys)
~~ participating in writing challenges offered by other bloggers
~~ in the planning stages of my first fictional piece (possibly a short story)
~~ investigating the writing of a longer story (note the word “investigating” …)
~~ in between all the above , trying to figure out which genre I belong to (suspect I MAY belong to the trans~genre group of writers , oh dear , do I need such a headache ?)
~~ in between all the above , hoping to find a writing buddy/mentor ?

So readers ,  there you have ! This is only the beginning and I know I have a long way to go but I also know that there is a great online writing community out there .
Thanks to all of you who have taken some time out of your busy schedules to read my post .

Cheers

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

10 responses to “First Year Tally – Mishy

  • Ryan

    I’m totally impressed with your word flow, M! Your blogposts and your drabbles are really well-written and interesting, imaginative and creative. I’m only blogging a short time, too, mostly stories, fiction, and it’s fun. I’m really looking forward to more of your writing. Remember… dialogue, dialogue, dialogue. 😉 You promised. 🙂
    Good luck!

    • mish

      Thanks R ~~ I’ve been having loads of fun ! And I haven’t forgotten about the dialogue aspect 🙂
      Thanks for your ongoing support ~ I really appreciate it !

  • Claire Gillian

    Sounds like you’re off to a great start at only 4 months into this. I wish I’d been half as organized and knowledgeable at that point. AW is a great place to learn. I am so indebted to all the wonderful writers and role models (including Aheila) I’ve met there.

    • mish

      Hello C ~~ I am so happy to meet you . I must say that your guest blog post was also a great source of inspiration ! I especially liked your realistic and candid approach to the writing process/industry . As a writer , I think that I’m the typical “late bloomer” so I’m trying to empower myself as much as possible . 🙂

    • Aheïla

      That is so sweet! Thank you!
      I agree on your point about AW. We all influence each other and grow through our connection. 😉

  • Charlotte Jane Ivory

    Thanks for sharing your experience so far, Mishy! I’m impressed with your commitment to writing and hard work. Long may your inspiration continue!
    ~Charlotte

    • mish

      Thanks CJ ~~ Considering the support structure within the online writing community , and the many great writers that I’ve encountered thus far , how can I not remain inspired ? Thanks for being a part of my experience ! 🙂

  • mish

    Thank you to all those who took time out to read my blog post . A special thank you to Aheila for including me in her First Year Tally Celebration .

Leave a Reply

