First Year Tally – Faith Hunter

This very week, Faith Hunter released the third installment of her popular Jane Yellowrock series. Mercy Blade is already receiving amazing reviews on GoodReads. 
I was quite surprised to learn what sparked Faith Hunter’s passion for writing.

When I was in high school, my creative writing teacher Carol Kohler told me that I was a talented writer. She added (paraphrasing here!) “You should make writing your career.”
I believed her. I immediately set out to research how writers are hired (we aren’t, not in the traditional sense) how we get paid (that isn’t traditional either) and how books go from an idea in a writer’s head to bound paper and ink on a bookstore shelf. My research was eye opening.

I think I speak for several readers when I say: “Thank you, Carol Kohler!” It’s crazy how one person can have such an impact on someone else’s life.
And one year later…

I was still in high school. 🙂 But I had a handle on what courses I would take in higher ed, how I would pay bills until I sold my first book, and what things I wanted to write. I also had a lot of things written—not book length, not yet. But a lot of ideas and shorts and vignettes. And I had learned how the business worked.

That knowledge, creativity and careful planning led to a fruitful career, proving that the first year’s groundwork is but the beginning.

If you want to know more about Faith Hunter, you’re invited to visit www.faithhunter.net and www.magicalwords.net.
One book from Faith Hunter will be part of the gift for your participation this month (winner’s choice).

I hope you enjoyed this first best-selling author’s guest post of the month. Next Friday, Jasper Fforde will share his own First Year Tally.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “First Year Tally – Faith Hunter

Leave a Reply

