What Are Your Christmas Plans?

We all know how hectic Christmas can become, especially when there are family members out-of-town or complex family situations. Navigating a Christmas schedule to decide who goes where and when is a nightmare for some people. My schedule is blissfully simple.

Tonight, we’re having dinner at my parents’ house, the same I grew up in. It’s 20 minutes from my current apartment so no long distance travelling for me. Apparently, we’re going to play Wii Sports and, as usual, we’ll eat too much and laugh all night. It’s a small party with the close family and the few uncles, aunts and cousins who have nothing else planned that night. Most of us sleep over.

Tomorrow is the annual pyjamas day. The big Christmas party at my Grandma’s house (we call her Mémé) has been a pyjamasparty for a while now. It’s nice and stress free. Again, there will be too much food but Mémé is a chef so no one will complain. We drink kir and wine, eat turkey (from my family’s farm straight to Mémé’s oven) and work our abs with laughter.

Everyone sleeps at Mémé’s house because on the 26, it’s the you-so-don’t-want-to-miss-it waffle breakfast. It’s my Grandpa’s original recipe (which is now dutifully baked by my uncle). It’s the original waffle irons too. Those things are older than I can remember. And they need fixing every year. It’s all part of the ritual. 😉
There’s a fight in the kitchen over who gets the first waffles and we eat them plain because they are just soooo good. With a side of fruit salad, it is the perfect breakfast.
In the afternoon, there’s a hockey game played in the courtyard. We make sandwiches with turkey leftovers, homemade bread and homemade mayonnaise. Om nom nom.
Every other year, there’s a big snow storm on the evening of the 26th and some of us can’t go back home so we spend another night. I think we’re due for that this year.

So what are your Christmas plans? Any particular family ritual you do every year? Do you travel?

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “What Are Your Christmas Plans?

  • Anna

    Ah, well. I work every single day from the 25th December to the 4th January. Xmas dinner tonight with my dad, and my sisters visit tomorrow (won’t see them much). The joy of part-time employment, yo. I take the hours I can get.

  • Andrew G. Carson

    In our house we get up at about 7am on Christmas Day to open presents and about an hour or two later my oldest brother Stuart and his wife and two daughters come round to exchange and open gifts as well as have breakfast before travelling through to his in-laws. We spend the rest of the day watching and critiquing the terrible Christmas TV (even at my age I’m looking forward to the Dr. Who Christmas special, how sad? LOL.) before we tuck into my Mother’s famous turkey dinner and finish off the day drinking brandy (me excluded this year) and eating mincemeat pies while laughing our butts off at reruns of the Two Ronnies. My brother and his brood come around for dinner on Boxing day so no doubt I’ll be roped into playing some WII game or other as they are obsessed with that console, lol. Anyhoo Merry Christmas Aheïla to you and to all your other visitors.

    • Aheïla

      7am? That’s the opposite of what we do; we go to sleep super late and wake up late as well. *laughs*
      Sounds like you have a pretty packed schedule! That’s nice. I hope you had fun! You definitely deserve it. 😉

  • bigwords88

    As pathetic as it sounds, I’m spending Christmas online… Yeah, that’s something shameful right there. If I was closer to my relatives I would probably try and put on a grimace smile and do the Happy Families thing and try to go a day without an argument, but the roads are too dangerous to do anything about that now.

    • Aheïla

      I don’t think it sounds pathetic. I do think it’s sad. Every time I have a party with my family (which is about once a month), I realize how lucky I am that the bond is so strong and the arguments so rare. I cherish every moment and am really greatful.

      My Christmas wish for you is that things get better with your folks and that next year, all of you can get together with a sincere smile and peace of mind. And if that’s beyond the realm of possibilities, I wish you can find a family among your friends. Be them online or not.
      The most important thing is that you’re happy.

Leave a Reply

