The Story of The Rest of my Life

I don’t know if it’s the artist in me that sees everything as creation. One thing is for sure, I approach important decisions in my life the very same way I approach a new story. After all, I am writing the story of the rest of my life; why not brainstorm, outline and get my butt in the chair to write it?

It starts with a character (in this case, myself) who wants something. There is always a thousand things in the character’s past and attitude that may lead the story in different directions. So I take a little bit of time to list the possibilities and mull them over. Eventually, something goes “ding” in my head and indicates where the story ought to go.
Then comes the outline, the broad planning of how I want the story to unfold. Once I get to actually writing it, it will change; my other characters will take a life of their own and contradict or surprise me. My main character will do unexpected things and react it ways I couldn’t predict. Plot holes will appear and need to be dealt with. Such is the way of life… er… I mean, narration! 😉
Once the outline is completed, I get my butt in the chair and write. It’s the only way the train will get going. Sometimes, I do a little research. If I really want to ever read that specific story, I sweat, I thrive, I power through the obstacles and finish it. Most obstacles are of my own making and I know it.
Eventually, my part of it is completed and I spend time finding someone to trust me and pay for this incredible adventure to see the world. And they’ll edit a few details in and out of my story again.

I lined up a lot of possibilities and after letting them stew from four days, this morning they went “ding”.
The story of my life takes me abroad where a job perfectly suited for me awaits. I meet new people, learn a bunch of things and change forever. I want the ending to be my return home but other characters might disagree. Anyway, you always write the last chapter once the rest is done and it’s usually useless to outline it.
I’ll spend the next days working on my resume, piling up information on various companies and writing breath-taking introduction letters. 😉
After the holidays, I’ll be casting a wide (worldwide?) net, looking for someone to trust me and make my story come true.

In my world and in writing, sky has always been the only limit worth noting. And even then…

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

11 responses to “The Story of The Rest of my Life

Leave a Reply

