Drabble Day – Snow

Let me tell you something before we move on to the drabble part; here in Quebec, we are going to have a hell of a winter. Last year was a flimsy one. We weren’t even sure we would have a a white Christmas. But this year, we’re going to pay for the past mild weather. I already had to use my shovel twice. I don’t like it.
Somehow, I find it twice as difficult to wake up during winter and I keep yawning all day long. *sighs* That’s it for the rant.

Here is how the drabble challenge works!

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments)

Today’s drabble prompt is : Snow!

Here’s my drabble!

        

Snow
I kicked off the snowman’s head. My little sister raised it barely three feet high. I should have helped her. I hated snow. And now it dared to be perfect and cold when everything was ugly and desperate for warmth.
When my sister tugged my sleeve, I should have come out to see her oeuvre. I yelled and sent her looking for a friend four blocks over. She was an angel in the snow now.
“You and me both,” I said to the snowman who lost its cold head.
I should have listened to my psychiatrist; anger was a problem.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

25 responses to “Drabble Day – Snow

  • Jenn

    I hear ya on the snow this winter! In the time I left for work yesterday to the time I got home, the snow was up to my knees! It took us 2.5hrs to dig out the driveway last night.
    I’m sorry, but I do love the snow, when there is enough to do something with. And today? There is tons!!!

    • Aheïla

      It’s been snowing for two days straight so there is quite a lot here too. *sighs* I don’t like winter. I’m cold all the time. Unless I’m burried under a ridiculous amount of covers or spending too much money on heating. *shrugs* Oh well… *wraps herself in several layers of clothes and heads to work.*

  • Lectin Gaezat

    I must. Resist. Augh.

    The random angles are popping up again. Must distance myself. Distanceeee~.

    I need to write then when I’m slightly more coherent tomorrow I guess. I’ll post it up tomorrow morning on my blog and link it. I don’t want what happened last week to reoccur.

  • Re Gypsy

    …..dark ……she should stop blaming her self.

  • mish

    Hi A
    I really feel for you folks up there in the northern hemisphere suffering under adverse weather conditions.
    In spite of my extremely limited snow experiences , here goes …

    The pristine landscape stretched on unendingly ; a vast , thick , pure white blanket that continued for as far as the eye could see .
    I opened my eyes , face upturned , hands outstretched to embrace the delicate , translucent flakes that swirled and danced about , round and round , ghostly and ethereal in their cold , stark environment .
    Within the hour , the unbelievably icy conditions dipped even further and then plummeted . It resonated with me on a deeper , emotional level and I felt a strange , inexplicable , yet oddly familiar sense of belonging . Of deja-vu . I couldn’t fathom it . It was unfamiliar territory … my first snow experience …

  • Bob Scotney

    Ever thought what it’s like to be a fairy on a Christmas tree that doesn’t get to play out in the snow?

    http://bobscotney.blogspot.com/2010/12/drabble-day-snow.html

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Hi Aheïla, we’ve been left without a car since Thursday as both of ours are buried under four foot of snow out the back of our house. The conditions have caused havoc over here with trains and buses being cancelled and for about eight hours yesterday the motorway between Glasgow and Edinburgh was closed. So my family is yet to develop the Christmas spirit but we’re working on it, lol. I’ve missed updating my blog this week as I’ve fallen behind on my writing commitments that and trying to work out how to organise my remaining Christmas shopping as I usually do my shopping online but the post service hasn’t delivered any mail for weeks. Anyhoo here’s my drabble attempt.

    Snow
    The blizzard had been unleashed upon the weary travellers without fore warning leaving them stranded many miles from their destination. A bitterly cold chill shimmered through the air surrounding their chariot of warmth as they braced themselves for the inevitable, the inevitable turn of the key to release the chariot from it’s duties and them from their air conditioned luxury. This gas guzzler wouldn’t survive long engine running in these conditions for it’s tank runs close to dry leaving them with a solemn decision to make do they sit it out or head out on foot? Decisions, decisions, decisions.

    • Aheïla

      Hello Andrew,
      I’m so sorry snow is wrecking havoc on your city. We’re so used to getting a lot of it here that it takes a huge snowstorm for public transport to be cancelled.

      I like your drabble. Being caught in a snowstorm is very overwhelming and scary. The moment you know the engine will die, you also know the heat will vanish soon after. And then what?

  • lynnette-net

    i’m gonna sit out on this Drabble. I’ve never seen, felt or played with snow my whole life, except watched them on tv. So i really don’t know what snow looks and feels like… here in a temperate country, it’s raining heavily every day.

    • Lectin Gaezat

      Lynette. Don’t let not knowing something hinder you from it.

      I mean, if not then fantasy is a dead genre. No one could write about it… but you can try anyway!

    • Aheïla

      Hi Lynnette!
      I missed you last week.
      You definitely shouldn’t feel limited. You can just as well write a story about the lack of snow and how foreign the concept can be. 😉

  • Drabble day – Snow | Re Gypsy's Blog

    […] of Aheila’s weekly drabble challenge! A drabble is a piece of fiction that is exactly 100 […]

  • Re Gypsy

    lol. So much to read and so little time ;o)

Leave a Reply

