Drabble Day – Time

It’s the last day of NaNoWrimo and I officially abandon the idea of reaching 100k. I’ll most likely end up at 95k so I’m completely satisfied for my first go at the challenge. I believe my sanity and my friends in need of moral support are more important than my word count. There, I said it! 😉

Now that the big revelation is off my chest, it’s Drabble Time *insert some McHammer beatbox thingy.*

Here is how the drabble challenge works!

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story) OR use my drabble as the opening for a longer story (don’t forget to give me credit!)
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments)

Today’s drabble prompt is : Time!

Here’s my drabbling!

                         

Time
My watch urged me to speed up my pace. Why couldn’t I ignore it? The hold of that little object over my life irked me. As the Powers That Be’s oracle, the circling hands ordered me around. There were places I couldn’t enter until the hands said so. Places I couldn’t leave until the little pieces of metal told the bell to ring. Places I had to be when the damned things required it of me.
I was late to one of those places. I couldn’t be late. My boss made it very clear my job was on the line.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

28 responses to “Drabble Day – Time

  • Jenn

    You know…I feel the exact same way! Clocks/watches suck! Although, my job isn’t on the line…thank goodness 🙂

  • Lectin Gaezat

    Okay here’s mine.

    —–

    Lowen looked around and when he was sure no one was looking, turned back to the plant and closed his eyes.

    Plants worked much slower than a human’s mind, and it took a while for Lowen to remember how to slow himself down. Staring at the small patterns of light and shadow made by the rustling of the leaves, he felt himself start to relax, and then soon, the rustle and movement of shadow meant something.

    “Morning Traemlin, how’s the patterning of fall?” Lowen asked silently, the magic allowing him to talk with the small larch in the garden.

    A bit of rustling, a bit of evening whisper reached Lowen’s mind. “You finally came back to talk to me.” Traemlin leant back on its roots, contented with his work for the day. “Patterning went good today,” and he began to talk to Lowen about how to most artistically drop leaves in autumn.

    —–

    I am so deprived of magic this year, I must be loosing it in all the short stories I started after NaNo. *curls up from backlash*

    • Lectin Gaezat

      Oh god, I realized there were so many contradictory actions here. ._., I need to brush up on my editing.

    • Aheïla

      *laughs* Ah! The post-NaNo mood. If you want to challenge yourself next Tuesday, you can do either or both of the following:
      – No magic
      – Closer to the theme

      That being said I really like your story. 😉

      • Lectin Gaezat

        Alrighty, I shall try.

        I don’t know, I tend to have a lot of strange ideas that pop up which are so tangential to the word that is given, it’s hard to concentrate on those that actually make sense.

        In this case, I think time was used to show the difference (which I now realize I cannot find) between a human and a tree.

      • Aheïla

        *Laughs* Don’t trouble yourself too much. The goal is to write first. I’m handing out additional challenges if you want them. They should in no way give you a headache. 😉

  • Judith Montgomery

    I’m loving all this creativity. It’s definitely inspiring me to focus my attention on my second novel.

    • Aheïla

      Good! I like that creativity is such a contagious bug. No one ever complains about having it but I do wish I could have a doctor’s note for creativity so I can take a few days off work to write sometimes.

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Hi Aheïla, sorry I haven’t commented for awhile, the projects I’m working on at present are really starting to take shape and I have been suffering from tunnel vision over them. Here’s my drabble attempt for time.

    Time
    There was once a man who questioned the sands of time stopping to count each individual grain to solve the riddle of the lost seconds of the day. Each day he would ask his eyes to stay concentrated on their goal but each day they would loose focus distracted as they were by the whispers of peripheral vision until one day he realised that his face had aged beyond his own ability to recognize and in that moment he understood completely the meaning of time how blind he had been it’s make every second count not count every second.

    Believe it or not this is actually the most upbeat thing I’ve written in awhile and I’m writing a comedy, lol, hope you liked it.

    • Aheïla

      I did like it. It actually makes me miss my absurd fables a lot. Because of the moral at the end. I should write more fables…

      I’m glad your projects are shaping up! A comedy, huh? Intriguing!

  • mish

    Hi A
    Here’s my drabble . And I hope that you’re going to continue with the Tuesday drabble challenge 🙂

    The eleventh hour …
    His breathing laboured … the involuntary twitching of his eyes … the heartbeat erratic …
    Time rewound as a myriad of pictures played out in his mind’s eye , like scenes from a movie , the camera rolling on and on , frame by frame .
    A teenager riding his favourite bike , graduation day , eloping amidst a furore , his firstborn in his arms , his wife’s grave … The frame slowed down as she appeared before him in slow motion , hands outstretched and smiling .
    A solitary tear rolled down his cheek .

    The doctor in attendance shook his head . There was no pulse . His hour had come .

    • Aheïla

      Something about the fact you call me “A” makes me feel all important. *laughs*
      I plan to keep doing the drabble challenge. It’s starting to gather quite a following and I like it. It’s also short enough that I actually have time to read it, which I can’t always do with my readers’ blog.

      About your drabble. I really like it. It has a good sweet and sour ending (which I am a sucker for). Nicely done!

      • mish

        Thnx A ~~ btw I do have a blog ( wipe the look of surprise off your face ) LOL !
        Since I’m “partially-technologically-challenged” , the blog is a bit of a mess . Definitely not in the “fancy league” like some of the blogs I’ve encountered …
        But in the unlikely event of you finding some spare time *what is that , she asks* , my blog is http://www.muso-blog-hog.blogspot.com

        And in case you wondering about the A ? It’s the distinctive aura surrounding your blog . 🙂

      • Aheïla

        I actually knew you had a blog. You mentionned it the first time you wrote here but never gave away the address. *laughs* I swung by real quick. I’ll try to find more time to check it out.

        A is the distinctive aura surrounding my blog, huh? What an intriguing way to put it!

  • Ryan

    The Powers That Be… lol, I like your drabble.
    Here’s the link to mine…
    http://eastendjournal.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/time-another-drabble

  • ketutar

    http://ketutarwriting.blogspot.com/2010/12/drabble-day.html

    It was the same old story, girl and boy meets, girl falls in love with the boy, perhaps he in her too, something happens and they depart. At least one heart is broken, the tears roll, words are uttered that can never be taken back again.

    But while it lasted, it was wonderful. They used to walk by the canal, watching swallows write love poems on the sky. Her eyes were as blue as the sky, his were brown, and the kisses were like wine and honey.

    He didn’t like wine, she hated honey… perhaps it was better this way.

    (It just doesn’t seem to have much to do with time, but this is what popped up.)

  • Drabble Challenge – Time | Literary Lint

    […] I nicked this from Ketutar, who in turn got it from Aheila. […]

  • Drabble day- time | Re Gypsy's Blog

    […] of Aheila’s weekly drabble challenge! A drabble is a piece of fiction that is exactly 100 […]

  • Poetry Prompt… | Literary Lint

    […] sent me to Aheila’s Drabble post the other day. That gave me an idea. Fiction is mostly prose, yes? But is it possible to tell […]

Leave a Reply

