NaNoWriMo – In A Funk

And so the third week of NaNoWriMo came and went. It most definitely was my worst week so far. I barely wrote anything, by my standards, and I blame it on work.

I love my job, don’t get me wrong. And when “The Amazing Game Proposal” (or TAGP for short, which is obviously a code name for a project under non-disclosure agreement) landed on my desk Tuesday afternoon, I squeed. The flip side of TAGP was its due date: Thursday. So I had roughly fifty-five hour to do what normally takes about a week.
See the little yellow squares in my NaNo calendar in the right sidebar? Those are the days I worked twelve hours and got very little writing done, less than the required 1,667 words a day (which is actually half my daily objective to reach 100k by the end of the month). Luckily, I was a few days in advance on my writing goals so I’m not behind on my target.

On Saturday, I wrote very little too. I gave my all to TAGP during the week and had no creativity left for my writing.
Then I realised my writing didn’t work. One chapter of Oil and Boiling Water needs to be moved earlier in the story (about four written chapters ago). A whole new scene needs to find its way somewhere, somehow.
In a nutshell, plot holes jumped me!
Even though NaNo’s official tactic is to take notes and continue writing as if I did the changes, I can’t do it. I need to write the scenes to know exactly how they unfold and how they affect the later chapters. I hate writing something that I know will need major rework. I prefer to avoid wasted time and get it as right as possible the first time around.

So since I need to edit Oil and Boiling Water to continue writing it and that editing is more or less prohibited during NaNo, I’m tackling something new for the rest of the month.
First, I breezed through the missing last chapters of Unforeseen Dives and now I’ll attack Killing Time OST (next year’s blog novel). I was supposed to write at least 20k of it in December but if I write it this month, I’ll have time to edit and complete Oil and Boiling Water next month.

And in the end, all will be good and right.

I’m at 75,793 words and there’s one week and a day left to go! *writerly war cry*

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “NaNoWriMo – In A Funk

  • Jenn

    Go, Aheila, Go!!! You can do it!

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Aheïla, I feel for you there is nothing worse than discovering plot holes in a piece you have spent so much time an creative energy on. Like you I would find it difficult to progress on with the nagging knowledge of the problem needing solved. I’m in the process of trying to write a short film which I hope to shoot next year while helping a friend with a one off Drama project she is developing under the BBC’s New Talent Initiative and finding working on the different genres and moods of the scripts a real challenge. I wish you luck on reaching your target and with your other projects not that you’ll need it my friend.

    • Aheïla

      I don’t mind finding plot holes that much IF I know how to fill them. In this case, it’s not that big; a chapter needs to come up earlier in the story and a scene needs to be added somewhere (maybe a whole chapter or maybe just a paragraph). I know I’ll have fun reading what I wrote and fixing that on the way back to where I am.

      Is that project the one you talked to me about in an email? *realizes she might have forgotten to reply to said email. Feels bad.* I’m sure you’ll find a way to make it work. I love challenges.

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Don’t feel bad you’ve been very busy and yes it’s the same project. I’ve rewritten this one particular scene in it nine times and for some reason can’t bring myself to move past it, lol, I’m loving the challenge though writing something you know will be filmed is a great experience but knowing the budget is very small makes it slightly more challenging.

    • Aheïla

      December should be calmer. *laughs*
      As long as it’s a challenge you like, I’m sure you’ll find the will to get through it. And yes, knowing it’s going to be filmed must be a good motivation. I’m actually contemplating the idea of doing Script Frenzy in April…
      I hear you on budget constraints. I work with them every day. 😉

Leave a Reply

