Drabble Day – Window

It’s drabble day… er… I mean Tuesday again!
This is the third Drabble Challenge I host (I really ought to start a page to organize this thing. *writes it on December’s To Do list* There!) and we are getting new participants each time. Yay!

A quick reminder of how it works!

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story) OR use my drabble as the opening for a longer story (don’t forget to give me credit!)
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments)

Today’s drabble prompt is : Window!
And here is my drabble!

                             

Window

It’s impossible to completely clean windows. Which is precisely what makes this task the perfect thing to procrastinate. I don’t feel like I’m truly procrastinating because cleaning windows isn’t relaxing. On the other hand, I still don’t attend to the responsibility I’m avoiding.
That’s actually what he blamed me for.
“I thought women were all about talking when something’s wrong. You’re so non-confrontational you’d rather clean up the fricking house.”
He wasn’t wrong. But then, he was so confrontational every detail fuelled a fight near the end.
I sighed, closed the cleaner and headed inside to sign the divorce papers.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

23 responses to “Drabble Day – Window

  • Jenn

    Ouch. Yes, I would procrastinate that too.

  • Lectin Gaezat

    Travis dropped off Daven this time round at the station and then turned to leave for the location of the decadent’s house. It took a short ten minutes, but he soon was parked in one of the better city apartment areas of Cederin. Overlooking Cederin river, the apartments were ridiculously expensive for both their views as well as their spacious interiors. The ninth floor of the building was cordoned off, and Travis stepped onto the plush carpeting and went under the yellow tape before coming to a stop beside Caleb, who was staring at the view of the river with some sort of half wonder and jadedness. With the pay of a cop, it was unlikely Caleb or Travis would ever earn enough money to move into these apartments.

    • Aheïla

      Hmmm… I think it’s an interesting tid bit of a larger piece but it isn’t really a drabble. I dare you, I double dare you, to write a story with a beginning, middle and an end in 100 words. I know it’s hard but that what’s the drabble challenge is all about. 😉
      Please note, again, that I enjoyed the snippet but I want the drabble challenge to be about drabbles.

      • Lectin Gaezat

        ah in that case…. sorry for doing that to you haha, let’s try that again.

        —–

        What Raven wanted in a castle was a good window. That window had to do a lot of things for him. It had to bring in the breeze, let in the air. It had to let in the sun- but never situate the window from the west or east, that would ruin the view at certain times of the day by blinding him. It had to present a great view for his delegates and guests to admire.

        This window was perfect, it even served another purpose. Watching the assassins he hired behead another court noble he had invited to a ‘feast’, Raven laughed as they tipped the shocked face out of the window and into a moat, already swimming with other similar expressions.

        He called in the next person when the assassin signaled that they were ready.

        —–

        Ooh, a bit dark, but I like it.

      • Aheïla

        Ah! Now that’s a drabble! I like it a lot!

        Fun fact: I learned about 10 minutes ago that I would spend the afternoon working on a game concept with castles and violence. *laughs*

  • Drabble Day – Window | Re Gypsy's Blog

    […] of Aheila’s drabble challenge! A drabble is a piece of fiction that is exactly 100 […]

  • Re Gypsy

    Okay. i decided to take your challenge. I hope you like it: LINK

  • Ryan

    Procrastination has its purposes, lol. Nice one!
    I’ll try to have a drabble for you on this one, too. 😉

  • mish

    Hi
    I’m a newcomer to the blogosphere . I’m gonna try the drabble challenge . Here goes :

    I remember that particular window . Quite vividly . As if it were yesterday . Large , oval-shaped , always open … invitingly … beckoning …
    As a six year old , I would creep up to it – slowly , deliberately ; simultaneously , excited and scared . What would I see when I looked outside ?
    But I was disappointed . Each and every time . The view remained unchanged . With no exception . The much sought-after blue station wagon didn’t materialize . Ever .
    I approached the window now , with uncertainty . Slowly , deliberately ; my emotions swinging to and fro like a pendulum . And I stopped dead in my tracks . Eyes wide in disbelief . The window was gone !

    • Aheïla

      Hi Mish!
      Welcome to the blogosphere and welcome to my blog as well!
      Your story is very intriguing. I like the rhythm in it as well. If you want an additional challenge for your next drabble, I invite you to try and write complete sentences.
      Cutting off words is tempting in a drabble and you can definitely get away with it as being your style. I just like to push people to get out of their comfort zone. 😉
      Good job!

    • lynnette-net

      Nice story!

  • lynnette-net

    Hello! I didn’t write the drabble about Window, but i wrote the one about Beach, which you posted two weeks ago (and i unfortunately missed it).
    Here it is, for comments! http://jesusloveslynnette.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/beach/

  • Re Gypsy

    Lol. Busy bee it looks like you have a lot of commenting to catch up on.

Leave a Reply

