NaNoWriMo – Just Another K

Is anyone else out there a little bit obsessed by their story? Their word count?
Am I the only one who was to wrestle her characters in the corner of her brain so I can work?

This first experience with NaNoWriMo seems to teach me about obsession. I’ve labelled myself “writeaholic” for some time now but as I blaze pass the 60k mark for my NaNoWriMo project (and realize it will probably end at around 80k so it’s a good thing I have other projects outlined and ready to go), I notice that, if at all possible, the addiction I felt all my life is heightened by the NaNoWriMo frenzy.

When I take two seconds to look at myself, I realize this crazy writing schedule weaved through an already charged life wouldn’t be healthy on the long run. But for one month, I can handle it. I can indulge in the madness and milk the addiction for all its worth. It’s an occasion for me to see how far I can push and still be happy with what I write.

So far, it’s going great. I’m happy with my pace and with the resulting pages.
Now I can only hope I can still successfully quiet the little voice in my head saying “just another k” when bedtime arrives.

Happy mid-NaNo day everybody! *writerly war cry*

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “NaNoWriMo – Just Another K

  • Jenn

    Oh, I’m with you on the obsession thing – and I’m not doing NaNo! I woke up at 2am when Andy came to bed & started thinking about my story & couldn’t get back to sleep! I’m partly a zombie this morning & flying on auto pilot.
    You have my complete sympathy!!!

    • Aheïla

      *laughs* Oh no! Not an autopiloted zombie! Take cover!

      I try to avoid the zombie mode, myself. So far, I’ve only cut one hour every other night on my sleep time. But gosh, those pirates need their word count!

  • Anna

    I’m just shy of 50k now but the thing is…the novel is finished. I rushed the storyline way too much, so I’m done. I don’t know what I’ll do with myself for the rest of the month. >.>

    • Aheïla

      I’ve got a couple of ideas for you: edit to flesh out the rushed storyline and add to your word count while perfecting your draft, start another story, dance like no one is looking… The list never ends. 😉

  • Ryan

    I really love your exuberance. I think it’s contagious. You’re so busy but you’re happy, excited and your writing is thriving even under pressure. I wanna feel the same and, since I said it’s contagious, I think I do. 😀

    • Aheïla

      *laughs* I shall infect you all!
      You’re right, things are pretty hectic these days and I enjoy it. I’m pretty sure I’ll spend at least a week slouching on my couch in December to make up for it.
      Gosh, that sounded a lot more manic-depressive than I intended it too. 😉

  • Jamie

    It’s addictive. I love each word I write. Even the bad ones. I love them. Adore them. I never want November to end – though I’m sure to continue writing like this would, well, make me go completely off the deep end. Reaching 50K tonight!!! I’m so excited!!!!

    • Aheïla

      Hi Jamie and welcome to my blog!
      Right there with you. The feeling’s awesome but too much of the good stuff is a dangerous thing. *laughs*
      Congrats on the 50k and welcome to the green zone! 😉

Leave a Reply

