NaNoWriMo Special – Hello, 50k Mark!

Yesterday night, I reached 50k in my NaNoWriMo novel which officially put me in the “green zone” on the NaNo website. *happy dance* That means that the first part of my objective is reached. Three days ahead of time. Yay! 
Now, I’m continuing toward the 100k ultimate target I set for myself with a renewed confidence.

Since November started, I’ve been maintaining a pace of a little over 4k words a day. I’ve also totally avoided the fabled second week blues. I think the two previous statements are inter-related; I’ve found my pace and I stuck to it.
Some days, I didn’t want to write but I pushed through to my objective.
Some days, I wrote faster but I stopped at my objective and took the rest of the night off to reset my brain.
This careful pacing brings me to the 50k mark with plenty of energy left and hopefully, I’ll finish November with energy to spare as well (because my writing schedule doesn’t allow me to take a break just yet).

The other key to reaching my objectives have been, without a doubt, my efforts to find writing times. By now, my body has fallen into a rhythm that I can trust to get a minimum word count in; 1,000 words while having breakfast, 400 words during the morning coffee break, 800 words during lunch break, 400 words during the afternoon coffee break. I’m sure to have 2,600 words (or more) done by the time I get home from work.

Last, but not least, I know my writing triggers. I make sure my laptop was fully charged so I can change environment when my brain freezes. I keep a fair amount of crunchy food handy to restart the creative process when it flatlines. I brew tea when it’s needed. I didn’t resort to music yet. 😉

So come on, ye who have yet to reach the green zone (which is PERFECTLY NORMAL at this point)! I know you can do it!
I officially fall in “supporting mode” for all those who need it and promise to send encouragement to any NaNo-ers who request it to @aheila_ on Twitter. I’ll even try to be creative about it. 😉
We shall all get through this together! *writerly war cry*

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

18 responses to “NaNoWriMo Special – Hello, 50k Mark!

  • Sevvy

    Congrats! I find that meeting my word goal one day helps me to meet it the next. Succeeding once makes me want to do it again. Great job, and I wish you good luck on the way to 100K.

    • Aheïla

      Hello Sevvy and welcome to my blog,
      Yes, the power of achievements is an impressive thing and helps keep us motivated throughout any challenge. 😉
      Keep going! One step at a time is what anything gets done!

  • Jenn

    Congrats! Woohoo!!! I KNOW that you will reach your goal of 100K by the end of the month!

  • Claire Gillian

    Congratulations! That’s a blistering pace but I like how you broke it up during your day and set goals that you pushed toward. I’m at 34.5k. I’ll get there too, hopefully by next weekend.

    • Aheïla

      I find that, personally, I work better in short bursts (two hours straight is the maximum and even that’s a stretch). So breaking up my writing schedule is really the key tactic for me.
      34.5k is impressive as well. It’s way ahead of the required word count. You’re doing an awesome job and I don’t doubt for a second you’ll reach 50k by next weekend!

  • Larry Marshall

    Congrats on hitting your 50k goal. Being a mere mortal, mine is 40k by the end of week two (tommorrow night). I’d be there already but I had a migraine day today. Still, I should easily hit the mark and I’m happy with my progress.

    Cheers — Larry

    • Aheïla

      You better be happy with your progress! 40k but the second week is awesome!
      I hope the migraine leaves you alone soon!

      • Larry Marshall

        Oh, you can be certain that I’m happy. I got up this morning and made my 40k goal. I’ve got a couple plot glitches that I’ve got to work out in some upcoming scenes but I couldn’t be more pleased with the current state of my novel.

        I enjoyed your comments about short writing spurts. When I was in the magazine business, if you couldn’t write in 10-15 minute blips, you’d never get anything written. I guess this was good training as I don’t have to spend the beginning of every writing session getting ‘in the mood.’ 🙂

        Cheers — Larry

      • Aheïla

        I can so relate to your comment about the magazine business. It’s not very different when it comes to game design; I’ve got meetings and frequent visits at my desk to discuss various problems. And an army of emails a day. So just like you used to, I have to be able to get in and out of writing mood pretty quickly.

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Congratulations on reaching your goal of 50k, very impressive. I too break up my writing into small chunks of time throughout the day but my reason for this is I have a very short attention span so can’t concentrate on anything for more than an hour or two. I wish you good luck on reaching your 100k target even though I’m sure you won’t need luck to do so.

    • Aheïla

      My attention seems a bit like yours to probably not for the same reasons. I have so many things going on in my mind about the various projects I juggle that I just can’t hold divergent thoughts at bay for too long. *laughs*
      Thanks for your support in this crazy writing endeavor!

  • Melanie Hooyenga

    You are amazing! It does make me feel a little better to know that you don’t knock out 4000 words in one sitting. I work best in shifts as well.

    Congrats!!

    • Aheïla

      Oh gosh no! One sitting would kill me! The only occasion I can write for a long time is if my environment is changing. I bang up an impressive amount of words while I’m on the bus/waiting for the bus to get across town. 😉
      Keep on writing Melanie! You’ll do fine I swear!

  • lynnette-net

    Congrats on you reaching the 50K mark! I wrote a drabble on my blog in the previous post! Hope to receive some comments and improvements! Thanks loads!

Leave a Reply

