Drabble Day – Career

Hello dear reader!
Today, I’m introducing Drabble Day.

A drabble is typically a hundred word-long story. Precisely. Since I’m a rather forgiving person let’s say we can give or take five words.
This month, every Tuesday, I will offer you a one word prompt to drabble with. You can take that word from any angle you want.
I’ll post my drabble and I invite you to post a link to yours (if you have a blog) or simply post your drabble in the comments.

This is the perfect little exercise to take a break from a NaNoWriMo project, distract writer’s block, or write a little something for fun.
If there are enough participants, I’ll keep doing it after this month.

For those of you who don’t like to drabble, I have an alternate exercise. You may expend on my drabble. Copy-paste my hundred words as the beginning of your story (give me credit by linking back to this post. Plagiarism will not be tolerated.) and write to your heart’s contempt.

So, without further ado, though you might have already guessed it, today’s drabble prompt is: Career!
And when I say “take it from any angle” I mean it! Just see how far I flew for my drabble. 😉

                                                     

Career
I look up, hoping the cat person I am can find a mouse-shaped cloud to chase into dreams. I need something to show me the way. The city around me is so boring; I might as well turn to its smog.
“Find your dream” is my mother’s sole advice to choose a future. My refusal to pursue higher education sprouts a “You have no ambition” speech. Apparently, no daughter of hers will fail in life.
Maybe the sky holds the rainbow to the pot of gold she wishes me to find. Or maybe the sky is where my freedom lies.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

16 responses to “Drabble Day – Career

Leave a Reply

