NaNoWriMo – A Much Needed Tool

I’ve been pondering for quite some time if I should buy a laptop or not. The big reason for the purchase was so I could carry my writing around with me.
If you’re a writer yourself you probably understand how your computer and your office can become an incredibly boring place – provided you are, like me, working from a desk computer only. We spend endless hours in front of our screen, typing in stories and editing sentences to perfection. So eventually, no matter how much we love the room we write in, we just need to get out.
It’s not as much about taking a break from the writing itself as it is a dire need for a change of context. Quite often, stepping out of the office causes a slew of ideas to come rushing in. Which is probably one of the reasons why the fabled napkin saw the birth of so many adventures.

When I arrive at the editing part of a major story (such as my novel), I tend to print it out and edit while sipping coffee in one of the local cafés. The breath of fresh air work wonders on my mood.
I do the same for the first draft of outlines and the planning of my writing objectives (I plan about one three months at a time. I know; I’m the freaky girl with a plan.).
When I realised that, I started wondering: what if I could take all my writing outside of the context of my office. Would I be motivated to write more? If I had a laptop, would I actually haul it around? Would I get used to typing on one of those things? (Because obviously, bringing a conventional keyboard along isn’t an option if you want the package to remain portable.)
Before investing I wanted to make sure it was worth it. That I would use it. I’ve never had a laptop.

When I started looking around for my portable writing companion, I figured that “portable” really was the operating word. I wanted something that would fit in my purse (or just about), that wouldn’t be too heavy and that would have a good battery. I know I wouldn’t carry the classic-sized laptop and I didn’t want to limit my writing in time or proximity of access to electricity.
Then, the NaNoWriMo talks began. Write-ins, huh? Suddenly, buying a portable computer wasn’t just about changing my writing environment but also about enabling me to truly experience NaNoWriMo’s social aspect.

Yesterday, I headed out to purchase my mini netbook. Then learned the Quebec gals aren’t much for writing during the weekly meetings.
Well, today’s post has been entirely typed on the little thing.
And I love it. 😉

I think I’ll go have breakfast in a restaurant while  I type a way a couple of Unforeseen Dives chapters.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “NaNoWriMo – A Much Needed Tool

  • Jenn

    You go girl! I have been asking & asking for a laptop for years now…I think I’ve finally worn my other half down enough that I might get it for Christmas. I’m really hoping so!

  • Claudie A.

    Heee, sorry to break the expectations. ^^ I’ll be honest and say we also don’t have the attention span for long focused writing. XD You’ll be glad you have your netbook on the mid-month writing party. It’s a whole evening of typing on screen.

    Either way, I find my tiny touchscreen laptop so useful, I don’t know how I functionned without it. I can take my classes’ notes on it, it fits in my purse and it’s quite responsive to my handwriting, which makes outlining with charts easy. This isn’t lost money. Laptops are awesome. 🙂

  • Anna

    I want a notebook but I can’t afford it. The house eats up all the money I make right now. Can’t have everything.

    (I want to have everything anyway. >.>)

    • Aheïla

      Yeah, budgeting is a pain. *laughs* I would like to have a kneel-in chair but I can’t afford a good one so I wait. It would allow me to vary my sitting position because seriously, sitting 8 hours at work plus the writing time at home cannot be good.
      *sighs* One day…

Leave a Reply

