Count The Irons

Every now and then, I update my To Do list. Yes, I confess, To Do lists, along with post-it notes, indeed rule my life, coming second only to creativity (in general) or writing (in particular). To my defense, with the number of projects I juggle, To Do lists are a must. I have three of them; one for work, one for writing, one for chores/errands. I’m not counting the To Watch, To Play and To Read lists.
Today, I decided to allow you to glance at my To Do list. Only the writing one.

Since the beginning of October, I crossed out a few items already. I sent my short story to SoftCopy Publishing for the “My First Time” anthology. I should here from that by the end of the month. I’m also sending amuse-bouches tomorrow. I’d like to send five of them. We’ll see.
On Monday, I completed an interview that will soon be published on the Hayden’s Ferry Review Blog (Hayden’s Ferry Review is a semi-annual journal of literature and art out of Arizona State University.) They wanted to know more about my job as game designer and how it impacts my writing. There’ll be a Q&A in the comments section of the blog once the interview is on. It’ll be the perfect occasion for you guys to discover that part of my life. I’ll let you know when it’s up. 😉
Now, as you know I completed writing The One Who Sees on September 10th. I did a first editing pass which I completed October 1st and am now going through one last read-through before I ship the thing out to Beta readers on October 15th. I’ll have 5 or 6 of them; different ages, gender, occupations and tastes. Most of them are my target audience and the others are on the fringe. The comments should be interesting!
Once that is done, I need to finish writing Unforeseen Dives (about 20k left) by October 31st. I also have some planning to do for NaNoWriMo. Ideally, I would also write four Absurd Fables so you can read them while I’m NaNo-ing.

Then there is always the blog. And work. Food, sleep, you know, secondary needs. 😉

Yes, I’ve got a bunch of irons in the fire. Will I get burn? Maybe you should start taking the bets! 😛

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

Leave a Reply

