Oh Headless Chicken! (An Absurd Poem)

Oh Headless Chicken!
Why is your death so slow?
Why, upon so quick a blow,
Do you linger before you’re taken?

Oh Headless Chicken!
Why is your death so erratic?
Why do you run in blind panic
When it’s crystal clear you’ve fallen?

Oh Headless Chicken!
Should your death be mundane
No fair maiden would complain
When your demise’s her life’s caption.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

9 responses to “Oh Headless Chicken! (An Absurd Poem)

  • Jenn

    lol…very cute! It sounds like me some days!

  • Oh Headless Chicken! (CONTD) | The Writeaholic's Blog

    […] Oh Headless Chicken! Why did I write your eulogy? That was rather unwary It called for something wrong to happen. […]

  • scribadiva

    Two points, three, actually:
    My mother couldn’t eat chicken her entire life: She spent summers on a family farm in Long Island (in the 1940’s, it was still “the country” back then, with horses, etc.) The site of the chicken running around w/out it’s head was too much for her. 2. I love this, ROFL. 3. I have a present that fits this perfectly, from Brian Eno. I’m going to mail you the MP3 version through Quicktime or another package, if you have a preference, let me know. I have to agree with Jenn: that IS me sometimes. Waiting on UPS for my Google Android; it’ll be much easier to read all of your stuff in bed. Very excited! Sweet tides be with you, Linda

    • Aheïla

      I’m glad you like it. I grew up on a poultry slaughterhouse but chicken never ran around. It would have been time consuming. I don’t have a prefered format for your present.
      I hope you get your Android soon. Reading in bed is the best. 😉

  • scribadiva

    Have you ever noticed how easy it is to write the wrong word because it’s a homonym? I’ve seen other people do it: site, above, should be sight. My incarnation as ‘grammargirl’ will write a post on that. Becoming any kind of English teacher–and I’ve been all kinds–can ruin your social life. But I’m only criticizing myself.

    • Aheïla

      *laughs* Yeah, I noticed. It’s especially a challenge for me, the French girl, to keep track of it all. Threat/treat are the worst for me; I always forget which one is which.

Leave a Reply

