Do You Know What Today Is?

Today is the day:

  • Charles Darwin first published his theory of evolution. (1858)
  • President Johnson declared the US Civil war over. (1866)
  • The NFL was founded. (1920)
  • Patrick Sherill gunned down 14 co-workers, an act that would later be known as the first “postal killing” spawning the idiom “going postal” and a video game. (1986)
  • H.P Lovecraft was born (1890) along with James Marsters (Spike in Buffy, 1962), Fred Durst (Limp Bizkit’s singer, 1970), Amy Adams (1974), Misha Collins (Castiel in Supernatural, 1974) and Demi Lovato (1992).

But these are just random fact about this day. What I really mean to tell you is that today is… conveniently placed drumroll… the beginning of my three weeks vacation! Yay!

I plan to relax at home during my vacations and write. Life has been really busy lately and I’ve fallen behind on my writing goals. Agreed, they are self-imposed but that doesn’t change the fact that it frustrates me a little. This year, I decided that I had enough of being dissatisfied, enough of saying I was writing a book without ever finishing it, enough of stating that I want to be a writer. This year, I make it happen (or at the very least take a set things in motions because, let’s face it, being published takes time).
So, for me, my vacations mean reconnecting with myself and my friends, relaxing and writing. If things go right, The One Who Sees will beta by the end of September (in French), Unforeseen Dives will be nearing its end (written but not published yet. You guys will keep following until the end of the year), next year’s blog novel(s) will be outlined… And I’m keeping some surprises up my sleeve.

I’m now heading for work and when I get out of the office, I’ll be free for three weeks. *does the happy dance*

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

8 responses to “Do You Know What Today Is?

  • Andrew G. Carson

    Hey Aheila, sorry I haven’t been visiting your blog as much recently but I’ve been in a bit of a funk which you probably heard about and I’ve also been working for the first time in 8 years on a script for the next series of the BBC show “Spooks”, now I’m doing a happy dance lol, I’m a big H.P Lovecraft fan so it was cool to hear this is his birthday or make that yesterday was his birthday (just checked the clock it’s 3.07am) and I’m glad your getting some much needed vacation time so you can concentrate on relaxing and of course your writing, you’ll have that book done in no time my friend and I’ll be first in line to buy it.

    • Aheïla

      Hey darling!
      Yeah, I heard about the funk. I wanted to write something to cheer you up but I ended up working overtime just before my vacation. I still plan to write something though…

      Working on a script is always fun! I haven’t done it for a TV show or anything, only for a game. I actually wrote my first interesting game script in the last couple of weeks (interesting meaning “more than 5 lines”).
      I’m sure you’ll do a terrific job. I can’t wait to see your name appear on my TV. 😉

      Vacation will indeed do me much good. As for my book, it really helps knowing that people have confidence and me and appreciate my work. The motivation I draw from it is tremendous. So thanks for that!

  • Anna

    Vacations nice. I just came back from some. I missed my computer tho. I hope next week will be productive, after such a long break. 10 days no writy!

    • Aheïla

      Vacations also are the best time to see people I haven’t seen in a long time. You’re on my list of “gotta have a coffee with” people. 😉
      I wish you a productive week. I’m itching to get to my writing. I haven’t touched to The One Who Sees in two weeks!

  • Jenn

    Yay for vacation time!!! I’ve just started mine today, but it is only for this week. *sigh* I’m hoping to get caught up in the DS pages & get my super hero story written…or at least started…
    I’m joining you in your happy dance & hope that your vacation time is all you want it to be!
    Gomps!!!!

    • Aheïla

      That’s right! Yay for vacation! I hope you can get the SuMo story done. It would be a shame if you couldn’t!
      Glomps to you too and I hope you have a nice week as well!

Leave a Reply

