Aheïla + Sleep Deprivation = Weapon of Mass Destruction

I’ve had a rough first half of August. Lots of overtime and various responsibilities that cost me some sleep. And I’ve fallen behind on my writing. 
Writing delays, I can handle. However, I insist on getting my eight hours of sleep every night even though some people think that at 24 years old I shouldn’t be so strict.
The thing is, I have very good reasons to avoid sleep deprivation at all cost. I’m not a clumsy person. I have good reflexes and very good coordination. I’m aware of my surroundings. When I’m tired, not just one short night tired but cumulative tiredness over a short period of time, you can take the last three sentences and go opposite day with them.
I mean it! I had breakfast with Leaf Saturday morning. When I told her I was sleep deprived, her first reaction was: “What did you break this time?”

Over the course of the last year, I’ve broken one teapot and three cups, tore/pierced/caused to unstitch a fair amount of clothing, twisted my ankle at least ten times (not badly but still)… broken nails? You don’t want to know. Bruises/scratches/burns? Don’t ask. And most of them seem to pop out of nowhere.
I’m usually not a danger to other people when I’m sleep deprived because I make a conscious effort to watch my movements when I’m around them. But as soon as I lower my guard…

Friday night, I broke my kitchen’s light fixture. I smashed it to smithereens. Luckily, I missed the light bulb. I was alone in my kitchen, barefooted, and the broom was in the living room. Obviously, a piece of glass dug its way into my heel even though I was very careful when I walked out of the minefield. I ended up leaving drops of blood all over my freshly cleaned floor. And I’ll have to replace the lamp during my vacation.
On Saturday, I had a dinner at some friends. I was responsible for desert and made sure to choose a recipe that limited the chances to harm myself. The raspberry and whiskey cheesecake was delicious though I have various grievances against the recipe. At least, I didn’t get hurt.
On Sunday, I sprang my ankle pretty bad. The pain caused a drop of blood pressure but I didn’t faint. Phew… It’s still sore, though.

I could have alternatively titled this post “Why Aheïla + Sleep deprivation should be a mathematical impossibility” but I decided it was a mouthful.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “Aheïla + Sleep Deprivation = Weapon of Mass Destruction

  • Leaf

    Are you all right?? Damn, I’m so going to tie you to your bed on the first days of your holiday. Try to take care of yourself until then, okay? And if I can do something, you know where to poke.

    • Aheïla

      I’ll be fine. My walk isn’t quite gracious today but it’ll be alright by tomorrow.
      And don’t worry, no one will need to tie me to my bed come Friday. I’ll lock myself home and sleep even if the world comes undone outside my door.

  • Jenn

    Ouch! Geez, and I thought I was bad if I didn’t get enough sleep. For me, the results vary depending on how much sleep I’ve lost. It goes from grumpy, to slurring/mumbling, to being a complete clutz!
    Sending you sleeping potion to make sure that you get enough!
    One more week till vacation!!!

    • Aheïla

      I have about the same list but the other way around: clumsy, rambling and grumpy are my stages. 😉
      You have no idea how many crazy things I say when I’m too tired.

  • Ryan

    Could you make a video next time. It would be hilarious! Sorry about the ankle.

    • Aheïla

      Of course! I’ll make sure to film myself every single minute of the day and make a reality TV montage of the funniest bits. I could make millions out of that. 😉

Leave a Reply

