I really wanted to post an Absurd Fable but…

There are not a lot of things in this world that can completely kill my need to write. Unfortunately, I encountered one of them this week.
I had every intention to post an Absurd Fable today despite the week I had. It has been a while since I posted one.

I worked 10 hours shift on Monday and Tuesday. I got out of work after 9 hours Wednesday, convinced my overtime for the week was done. I had dinner with Leaf that night to launch my creativity for the next fable. We laughed our head off and everyone looked at us funny. I knew the next fable would be great.
Thursday morning, I was told that chances were I could take Friday off to make up for the beginning of my week. An hour later, they recruited me to help someone on a project. Fine; help usually means a couple of meetings to brainstorm. No sweat. Unfortunately, the big project in question was, literally, due for yesterday (Wednesday). We got an extension until Monday. Guess what I’ll be doing all weekend?

I don’t mind doing overtime. I love my job and  crunch times are part of it. What got to me is the fact that I was walking toward the light of a carefree three days weekend and was yanked back in the swamp. Add that to other small frustrations and it just killed my mood completely.
There are other things I must do this weekend so I’ll be running around instead of relaxing.
And the iPod I won last Christmas died on the way home from work.
And my wireless phone died as I called in some food when I got home.

I really wanted to post an Absurd Fable and delight you with some funny lines but there is only so much I can take.
Don’t worry, though. I’ll be in a very bad mood for a couple of hours then I’ll be fine. Tea will help. I also wouldn’t say no to a hug or a glomp. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

12 responses to “I really wanted to post an Absurd Fable but…

  • Jenn

    Aw, poor darlin! I’m sending you mass amounts of hugs & glomps (I know they’re the same thing, but hey…more is always better)! Oh yes, and a squeeze too. I’ve been in OT all this week myself, so you have my complete sympathy. I hope the time flies by for you!

  • Leaf

    I’ll be sure to glomp you tonight. I can also bring in some tea and/or teapots if you’d like some black, wulong or pu erh tea instead of green for a change.

    I can’t say anything else than what I said last night when you told me about this mess. They are sick. Completely, utterly sick.

    Now, on the other side… *Thinking positive, thanks Jenn* … we may be able to launch some ideas for Absurd Fables again. Who knows? C. Baby might even get a little sister! *Trying to avoid spoilers*

    • Aheïla

      I’m trying to limit my about of coffee/tea this week and only drink it when necessary (aka just about every morning).

      I wouldn’t say they are sick. Any time you make changes in a company, mishaps are bound to happen. Once we find our new stride, I’m sure it’ll be all better. Working in video games is awesome but it does come with some inherent crunch times.

      I thought we really didn’t want to give CB a sis!

  • Alyssa

    *GLOMP OF DEATH*
    Sorry about that Aheila, I know exactly how you feel. The whole: Yes, you can have what ever you want and then, just when it’s within reach… Take it away. It’s like putting a piece of chocolate cake in front of you and then saying it’s yours but you’re not allowed ot eat it, the person NEXT to you is.
    I’m thinking of you hun.

    • Aheïla

      Thanks for your love and support Alyssa. With a little luck, I’ll still be able to post The Entrepreneur (NaStySuMo story) tomorrow and Cassidy Sunday.
      I’ll just be craving for some “nothing to do” time next weekend.

      Three weeks vacation in two weeks… Three weeks vacation in two weeks… Three weeks vacation in two weeks…

  • MultiAinjo

    OT can be the death of creativity. But it sounds like a little glomping (I learned a new word!) and some tea and you’ll be back at it.

    Stay rested. And thanks for the add on BC. 🙂

    • Aheïla

      Unfortunately, my creativity isn’t dead. I have the weirdest dreams when I work OT. *laughs* It’s just that I get home and I despise my computer! (I design video games so I spend my day in front of a computer.)
      Thanks for visiting and I hope you have fun on BC (and here too if you’re into short stories and web fiction.) 😉

  • Emma Murty

    My heart goes out to you Aheila overtime sucks, I had a load of it a couple of weeks ago as one of my co-workers left without giving notice and I had to cover her shifts. I was left doing 9am till 9pm for a whole week and as much as I love yoga doing it for 12 hours a day is a real pain, lol.

    • Aheïla

      Hey Emma! It’s great to see you here!

      My job is on and off when it comes to overtime; one week I’m on hold waiting for clients’ comments and the next it’s complete frenzy to address them.

      Maybe I’ll ask you to teach me yoga. *laughs* I actually started slowly recently at home. I work at a desk all day and my lower back and shoulders often remind me they need to stretch. A sun salutation in the morning improved my life so much!

Leave a Reply

