Song Saturday – Wild Heart

You’ve already heard about Tiffany’s story  Fearsome Rise of the Werewolf/Pony (Part 2, 3 and 4). I posted the song of the main character, Scout, a little while ago. That one was called Howl On Through.
This week is Tiffany’s birthday, which makes this week Tiffany’s Music Appreciation Week. So I hurried to complete a second song that I started alongside Howl On Through. It’s inspired from the same story, but isn’t sung with the right voice for Scout.
You can listen to Wild Heart here (skip the poor quality test songs on the list ;)). I recorded it in about fifteen minutes because I’m really busy this week. So it’s a cappella, without any effects on my voice whatsoever. And I did only two takes. I’m still really proud of it and recommend you listen to it before you read the lyrics. You know, to get the soul of it first. 😉

Here are the lyrics:

Wild Heart

It used to be warming coat,
A shining fur around us both,
A deep-set trail linking our hearts,
A guiding full moon in the dark.

But it turned sour and grew cold.
The soft kisses layered with mold.
The passion’s haze became bout.
The words silvered for the shootout.

I don’t know what to do.
I don’t know who to be.
Have I forever lost you?
Have I forever lost me?

I first laid eyes on your face,
Wild heart racing.
I dived into your embrace,
Wild heart melting.
Now I run to distance disgrace,
Wild heart cowering.

We met somewhere in no man’s land
Away from duty and command
Seeding our flame in fertile ground
Blooming where love’s flowers abound

Then reality tugged our lead
And choked all my chances to plead
Our forest now keeps us apart
Good memories scamper like harts

I sure know what to rue.
I sure know who’s guilty.
Have I forever scarred you?
Have I forever scarred me?

I felt the weight of your pain,
Wild heart thumping.
I bowed as tenderness waned
Wild heart breaking.
I crumbled under your bane
My heart stopping.

I growl at the wilderness once dear.
It kindles my emptiness and fear.
I’ll stomp and howl out of sight.
Clumsily going bump in the night.

I don’t know what to chase.
I don’t know what to sing.
So I lurk, hidden by your place,
Tamed heart weeping.

Happy Birthday again to my dear Tiffany!

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

14 responses to “Song Saturday – Wild Heart

  • Alyssa

    this is beautiful Aheila.

  • Antonio

    You know when I listen to you sing, I always imagine a really deep, strong drumbeat pounding out a tribal beat in the background. Maybe it’s just me, my brain always likes to think in contrasts. Your voice has an ethereal quality, it would be cool to ground it a bit with something…raunchy, NaSty? 😉 Great lyrics!

    • Aheïla

      Thanks Antonio! Drumbeat is actually a thing I think a lot about. Part of my bardic experience: providing a simple hand-clapping pattern to involve the audience around the fire. 😉
      And with my braids, I really bail the tribal look. *Laughs*
      I really ought to get you guys a picture of that.

  • Phil

    Wow, the lyrics and your voice really capture the emotion Tiffany so beautifully put into her story. I agree that your voice has an ethereal quality which sets the mood for this song and the story behind it. Drumbeat? Yeah. That’s perfect. I love where you say Are you lost to me forever? Am I lost to you? Very nice!

  • Leaf

    Hmmm… you can indeed be proud of this one. Very deep emotion pitch, great lyrics and an air that catch the ear. It makes me want to peek on that story of her ^^

  • Phil

    Tiffany’s story is filled with stirring emotion that flows throughout. I hope Leaf reads it. It’s well worth it!

  • Tiffany

    Aheïla this is beautiful!! You’re quite a poet and singer. I think it would be perfect for Scout too. She’s been calling me back to her story lately. I left her passed out on the ground in a parking lot and, well, she’s ready to leave. 😉
    Thanks!

    • Aheïla

      I’m glad you like it, Tiff! I thought it might be too high pitched for Scout as you seemed to hear her a little lower.
      And yeah, I guess she’ll want to get to her bed eventually. *laughs*

  • irtiza104

    This is great. I must say that you are really talented. Carry on!

    • Aheïla

      I’m glad you like it! I chose to put music aside a little to prioritize my writing but I still enjoy it as a hobby and it’s great that other people enjoy it too. 😉

Leave a Reply

