You Know It’s Summer When…

… you wake up at 6 in the morning. And the sun is already shining.

… you wake up all sweaty and craving a cold shower. (Ok that one may also indicate something else but we are not getting into that.)

… you have flower boxes to water before you head to work.

… you can have breakfast on your balcony. Without wearing long sleeves.

… your office is colder than outside. So you put on long sleeves when you arrive.

… you have to dodge footbags. In and out of the office.

… you soften a pair of awesome new sandals. And get blisters. And worry about the hard skin on your feet that doesn’t look so good in said sandals.

… you get home at 5. And the sun is still up.

… bad days weigh down on you. But not as much as the hot humidity of the ambient air.

… the thunders growls for hours. Without any rain.

… the humidity and thunder builds up a tension that tingles your senses.

… the sky finally releases its stress and you can dance in the rain and let it wash away your woes. Without getting cold.

For me, summer arrived last Tuesday when I chased away a bad day by playing Caravane Palace and dancing in the rain on my balcony.
Hey there Summer, thanks for getting here. Please stay for more than three months.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “You Know It’s Summer When…

  • Phil

    I love how you express this post so poetically without seeming to try. Dancing on your balcony in the rain, coming home before sunset. You even make waking up all sweaty sound inviting. Double entendrés or not.

    • Aheïla

      Double entendre are where miscommunication and awesomesauce lie! 😉
      You’re right. I didn’t try to be poetic. Now that I read it after letting it rest, I realise I am. Maybe my subconscious is a poet!?

  • Phil

    Isn’t that what makes double entendrés fun!?

  • Jenn

    I love your list! I have one thing to add to it…the birds now wake me up on regular work days as they are up with the sun before I am!

    Dancing in the rain! I did that in my back yard on Friday night. We had a flash thunderstorm & the rain was so warm & inviting that I just had to go out in it. Dancing in the rain has always been one of my favourite things to do!

Leave a Reply

