Saturday Morning Jive

Munching on a tasty toast
Aheïla looks askance
She really wants something to post
Her mind’s in a blank stance

“I won’t look at the computer
’til something sprouts wonder”

Her eyes meet a post-it note
Idling on the wall
She makes a quick mental vote
Ideas begin to brawl

“That’s what I’ve been looking for
A sturdy funnel for ideas galore”

She sits and stirs and types away
Then adds a funny twist
Of her To Do list for today
You will now get the gist

“You must hurry up trusty fingers
I can’t afford to linger.”

Eight fifteen, the hairdresser
Cuts and dyes her mane
Meanwhile, her students’ papers
She needs to ascertain

“Gosh I have a busy morning
And the rest’ll be as grooving”

She has to write Cassidy
Or face her readers sorrows
A little time with Lily
To fill the last hollows

“I could finish Tiffany’s song
If that last verse wasn’t so wrong.”

A diner with a writer friend
Will top her evening
So after she hits “Send”
She really better gets going

“As for the cleaning chore…
It’ll be tomorrow’s labor.”

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Saturday Morning Jive

  • Phil

    Aha! I suspected you have the soul of a poet…lol! That was cute. Something serious next? And, confirmed, writing is your addiction. 😉

    • Aheïla

      Didn’t I already write poetry here once before?
      Is this an official request for a serious poem? I tend to write lyrics in English more than poems as I never studied English poetry and find it hard to just translate what I know for French.
      But hey, I might try it. I think I have two that would qualify as “fairly serious”. They might also charm the steampunkish people. 😉

Leave a Reply

