Where Do Ideas Come From

If you have read the How I Write page, you already know about this project in which I am going to get you on the insider’s track of my creative process and give you a couple of tricks along the way.
It didn’t seem right to start this off without a proper introduction. And a disclaimer.
So here they are.

Disclaimer
I am a really creative person. The biggest problem I have is to focus my creativity on something. I rarely have troubles being creative. I’ll try to address both sides of the issue every time I can.
Second thing: There is no right or wrong way to create or, in this case, write. We each have our thing that makes us tick, creatively speaking. I’ll give you tools. I’ll give you my process. Make your own.

Introduction
I’ve been asked several times: “Where do you get your ideas?” It begs the bigger question: “Where do ideas come from?”

They don’t come from cabbage nor are they delivered by storks. They don’t come from a man and woman getting some action.
And at the same time they do; I’m fairly certain you all got colorful images reading my previous statements. Don’t try to deny it.

Here is the truth: Ideas come from everywhere.
They are hidden in each of your steps, woven in all conversations, peeking out every corner. They are breathing down your neck and populating your dreams. They paint your walls and swim in your music.

Now, the revelation: Ideas come from everywhere.
If only you dive into your world and open yourself to it, the ideas will jump at you. They’ll reach for your attention like plants toward the sun. And they grow and bear fruit too. Open your eyes. Then open everything else. Sight does not have the monopoly on inspiration.

Last but not least, the epiphany: Ideas come from everywhere.
Take the warmth of sunshine on your skin and turn it into a waltz down memory lane. The lemon on your tongue has a story of bitterness to tell. The water dripping incessantly from the faucet flows to untold wonders. Every single thing you perceive in a day, every single stimulus that reaches your brain is a potential idea. Notice it and let your mind wander along its lines.

There a reason why I repeated the same thing three times; they say it’s what it takes to permanently imprint in someone’s mind. Repeating is a learning process.
If you want the key to creativity, you need to learn that precise phrase and explore its every nook and cranny.

Try that as an exercise:

  • Take a walk and look around.
  • Mentally pick up something. Anything.
  • Come back home and write five pages about it.
  • Somewhere in those lines, there is a story.

If you’d like, you can post in a comment the link to the story you found on your walk. I’ll find a minute to check it out.

And that, my dear readers, was the introduction to the How I Write project. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

One response to “Where Do Ideas Come From

Leave a Reply

