Je l’aime à mourir (NaStyRoMo prep)

I am currently working on yet another original NaSty story. I wasn’t sure I would be able to get it in – what with the papers to grade, the full-time job, the social life and the other writing projects – but the NaSty deadline has been pushed from Valentine’s Day to the end of the month! Yeah!

Today, I’ll be working on Cassidy’s adventure. I have to post it tomorrow so it is my top priority, else I fail the purpose on this blog. Still, I wanted to share with you the origin of my next NaStyRoMo story. Do some prep work on your mind, if you will.
Basically, I’ll share my source of inspiration and you can mull it over and built up expectations. *grin*

I was sitting in a restaurant when a song caught my ear. I recognized it… but not quite. It’s a song my parents used to listen to a lot but what I heard is the restaurant was an English version of it. It sparked something.
Now, what I want you to do is click on the link I’ll give you, crank up the volume, close your eyes and listen. Do just that. Then come back here. No cheating!
Until Death Do Us Part – Jonas

Pretty, isn’t it? I’m a metalhead kind of girl but I can still find it pretty. And Valentiny. And NaSty!
It’s a pretty fair rendering of the original song, which was in French and called Je l’aime à mourir by Francis Cabrel. Some of the meaning got lost in translation to preserve the elegance of the song. For the rest of this post, I will translate the original song, completely disregarding the musical and rhyming aspects to focus on meaning. This way you’ll know where I stand with the two versions. Somewhere in the middle is the story I’m going to tell in an upcoming NaSty entry.

First: Je l’aime à mourir. There is a reason why they did not translate it in the English version. I means too many things. It’s “I love her until death”, “I’d die for her” and “I love her so much it kills me” all wrapped into one. Incredibly romantic with a touch of tragedy… no desperation may be? Anyway, I’ll leave it in French in my version too, but now you know why!
Additional note for the chorus: in French “faire la guerre” (fight a war) and “faire l’amour” (make love) uses the same verb. In English “make war” doesn’t quite cover the meaning. So I translated in in two seperate parts while in French it flows as how beautiful antithesis.

I was nothing and all
And yet today
I am the keeper
Of her night’s sleep
Je l’aime à mourir

You can tear down
Everything you wish
She just has to open
The space between her arms
To rebuilt it all
To rebuilt it all
Je l’aime à mourir

She erased the numbers
Of the neighborhood’s clocks
She turned my life into
Balls of crumpled paper
Bursts of laughter

She built up a bridge
Between us and the sky
And we walk across it
Every time she
Doesn’t want to sleep
Doesn’t want to sleep
Je l’aime à mourir

She must have fought all the wars
To be strong as she is today
She must have fought all the wars
Of live… and made love too…

She lives as she can
Her opaline dream
She dances amidst
The forests she draws
Je l’aime à mourir

She wears ribbons
And let them fly away
She often sings
How I am wrong to try
To hold them back
To hold them back
Je l’aime à mourir

To climb up to her lair
Hidden under the roofs
I must nail down notes
On my wooden clogs
Je l’aime à mourir

I must just sit down
I must not speak
I must not want anything
I must just try
To belong to her
To belong to her
Je l’aime à mourir

She must have fought all the wars
To be strong as she is today
She must have fought all the wars
Of live… and made love too…

I was nothing and all
And yet today
I am the keeper
Of her night’s sleep
Je l’aime à mourir

You can tear down
Everything you wish
She just has to open
The space between her arms
To rebuilt it all
To rebuilt it all
Je l’aime à mourir

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

2 responses to “Je l’aime à mourir (NaStyRoMo prep)

Leave a Reply

