Chicken Breasts and Other Chatterbox Fillers

There’s a bunch of random things I want to talk your ears off with (or rather write your eyes off) so here comes the jumble.


NaStyRoMo and other scribblings
I don’t know if you’ve peeked at the NaStyRoMo side page Kim Harrison opened for us on her Drama Box but things are sure moving fast. I am working on two stories; one serious and sultry, the other more on the comic relief side. It promises to be a wonderful experience!

Apart from that, I’ve picked up my novel again. I’ve started the rewrite of the first half in order to slip back in before writing the second half. Yesterday, I had some friends over and I ended up reading the first couple of chapters. They laughed, they tensed at all the right places so I have newly found confidence and motivation to pursue writing.

And the blog’s story is moving along just fine as well so it’s cheers all around!

 
Monthly Review
Today is the Writeaholic’s Blog one month birthday. Okay I started it a little before January 1st but it is basically my New Year resolution so bear with me here and sing! 😉
In a month, my blog has reached 150 views which is more than I hoped for. It is starting to show signs of having regulars and I love it. Can we keep that up for February? I sure try my damnedest to make it happen. Thanks, readers!


Gift
Since it’s the blog’s birthday, they’re ought to be gifts. Chatterbox-worthy gifts. Here is one of my weekend adventures.

I walked the alleys looking for the perfect… something. I was going to a friend’s house tonight and was expected to cook the meat for the main course. The grocery store seemed so filled with possibilities, it made my head spin. I knew I wanted to cook chicken. Chicken is safe. Chicken is my friend. I grew up with chickens and killed a few. I know chicken.
All that is good and well but the knowledge weigh down on me. If I was to pick the easy meat, I had to cook something extraordinary with it. There was no way taking the easy way out would sit well with me.
I finally picked chicken breasts. Elven chicken breasts, quite a supper we were having! And since the cheese counter was calling me at the corner, I walked toward it and grabbed goat cheese. Plain. It would need a little spicing. I looked around and shazam! Sun dried tomatoes. Mmmm…
I was just missing… something. I needed to balance it all out. A sauce of some kind. I walked a few pace and ended in front of the pears’ stand. I looked up at the sky and tried to imagine the taste, chewing down on air and producing mushy sounds that made the clerk uneasy. Pears would work, but which one? I smelled each kind and jammed the one with the best scent in my basket. I reached for port jelly on the way to the register and was good to go.

“How to cook goat cheese and sun-dried tomato chicken breasts with sweet pear and port sauce” or “Why is the instinct-o-meter the most precious cooking tool”
Preheat your oven at 350 F.
Mix together plain goat cheese and cooking cream to get an even thick and creamy mix. Add thinly diced dried tomatoes and onions. Spice it up with salt and pepper.
Cut the chicken breast open. Make the hole big enough to be able to stuff it, small enough so the stuffing won’t escape. Guess what? Now, you stuff it with the goat cheese mix! Slightly coat both sides of the chicken breast with Dijon mustard, salt, pepper and Provence herbs.
Heat up a pan and throw in some butter and a little onion. Sear both sides of the chicken breast then transfer it to an oven-proof cooking pan. Put it in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes (which is approximately the time you need to cook the sauce). You might want to take it out half way through to splash it with its cooking juices.
Slice the pear(s) in thin slices. Add a little more butter to the previously used pan and line it with the pear slices. Heat it up again and let the pear sweat, adding a little bit of port jelly to keep everything moist. Once the peach are turning gold, add chicken stock and let it simmer. You might want to add more port jelly because it’s really yummy. Taste it, adjust, taste again. When the peach are tender, add in a mix of cooking cream and flour to thicken the sauce. Simmer, taste, adjust. Repeat.
Keep an eye on everything and figure out when it’s done.
Lay the chicken breast in the plate, fan out some pear slices by it, dash it all with sauce and pass the plate to the friend who made the side dish.

And this is how, on a Saturday night, your instinct produces an incredible meal for your friends to enjoy. So much so that you feel the urge to share it on your blog and label it gift.

If you try it at home, let me know what you thought! It’s very French cooking inspired because, hey, I’m French who cooks!

Enough chatterboxing for tonight! I’ve got stories to write! 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

10 responses to “Chicken Breasts and Other Chatterbox Fillers

  • Phil

    Now I’m hungry again. Don’t usually eat goat cheese, but heck I’ll try most anything, lol. Your dinner sounds très délicieux. Okay. I should probably stop with the high school French… 😉
    I posted a teaser for my story on your previous post. I wanted you to read it. Hope you don’t mind. Oh, and where do you find the time to do all the stuff you do!? Lol.

    • Aheïla

      Lol. I love cooking. That’s probably the French fiber in me and/or the artist!? Give me friends, food and red wine and it’s the seventh heaven.
      How I do all the stuff? I’m an alien with several clones. Please don’t tell anyone. 😉

  • Phil

    Oh, I just read your comment on my story. Thanks so much for your interest! 🙂

  • Phil

    Sorry to keep you up so late, lol. I just read your reply to Marsha’s question about posting on your page can you give me your email here? Do you need mine? I tried to get a wp blog today but there was some glitch. If I can’t get my own, I’d really appreciate your kind offer. You are too nice.

  • Phil

    Hi Aheila, I’m doing my revisions and developing my plot trying to make the story unique but not long and convoluted.
    I love writing but you are light years ahead of me in the creativity universe.
    I can’t wait to read more! 🙂

    • Aheïla

      Don’t wait! Refresh the home page! Lol
      My creativity is my bread and butter so it gets its exercise everyday! I’m glad I can try my hand at something serious in the story department though. It’s not new but it’s the first time I dive in with as much dedication. I have a hard time picking one art form but I grew tired of starting a thousand things and leaving them unfinished. So here I am now.
      Will you post your story on the page Tiffany set up or do you still want some space here?

  • Phil

    Oooh, I haven’t checked Tiffany’s page in a few days. Thanks for letting me know about that. If it’s still ok, I might use yours since you gave me your email. But I’ve a lot of work to do on my story. Seems my characters did not like where I was taking ’em and forced me to revise. And who am I to argue with two pretty girls!? 😉

Leave a Reply

