NaStyRoMo teaser

I’ve talked about it already: the National Story of Romance Month, an idea started by Antonio on Kim Harrison’s Drama Box.
The rules are simple: write a supernatural creature romance story for Valentine’s Day.

I started mine this week and it’s coming together nicely. More importantly, for you dear readers, I thought that romance and teaser walked well hand-in-hand.

So here, without further ado, are the first hundred words of my NaStyRomo story. I’ve got the title and 500 words in. I don’t know how long it’ll be (and a lot of that will depend on the time I have) but I know what it’ll say.

Enjoy this little gift, from my heart to yours!

The Hunt
I caught a smell. My head jerked up, nozzle against the wind, an instinctive response way faster than thought. I inhaled again, slowly. Each molecule in the air carried priceless information. The forest’s tang and sweetness took up most of the olfactory space. Head notes of the subtler of perfumes. Then, faint in green’s dominion floated the ammoniac bite of the small animals, hiding under this dangerous moon, and the earthy smell of humus tempered with by critters. Underneath it all, laid a musky caress that sent tingles down my spine. It was his smell. Thank God! That gust of wind had just levelled the play field.

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

4 responses to “NaStyRoMo teaser

  • Phil

    Very powerful, Aheila! Effective imagery and tension, and real suspense. I can’t wait to read more. If you don’t mind, I would point out that the correct form of the verb is “lay” not “laid” in your sentence, “Underneath it all….” Sorry, don’t hate me! I’m doing my grad work in English lit so I notice those things. And your use of language is phenomenal!
    I’m working on my story this weekend and I really appreciated your comments on the story site. I have a lot of work to do on plot for my vamp/were romance. Good luck with your story.

    • Aheïla

      You are so sweet! 😀
      So you’re a student in English lit and all you have to say is that my writing in my second language is phenomenal but for one tiny mistake in a verb tense?! How could I hate you?
      Seriously, if you spot mistakes like that in my post, do mention them. Best case scenario, it reassures me that the mistakes I make in English are the same I would in French: inattention, typo, etc. Worst case scenario, I perfect my knowledge of your language. Gosh, looks like a Win-Win situation! 😉
      I’ll try to keep up with the comments on the NaStyRoMo sidepage and offer up advice if I have any. Seems like it’s bubbling over there!
      I can’t wait to read your story.

  • Phil

    Thanks for offering your page to post my story, Aheila! I’m polishing it up a bit, oh and I need a title, and hope to be ready Monday or Tue.
    I really liked your funny NaSty. I laughed!

    • Aheïla

      No problem! If you choose my blog to post, you’ll just have to email your story to me when you’re done.
      Wait until you see the rest of the funny NaSty. One hint: werechipmunks.
      I’ll be working on my stories this week but I don’t think I’ll post mine long before the 14th. I’ve got to write for this blog and plan some classes, too!

Leave a Reply

