And then a fifth walked out the door…

Tough day at work today. A huge machete fell. 20 people were cut loose. It’s a fifth of the company.

Laid out like that, it sounds awful. On some level, it is. The bosses told us that we are restructuring the company. I do understand where they’re coming from and I trust they made the best decision for the long run. So I don’t hold it against them. But there is a hole in my chest.

I still have a job. My department dodged the bullet but some friends had to go. Not because they weren’t doing a bang up job and they’re not going cheaply either. It’s a clean surgical cut, well executed and for the right reason. As far as those things go…

To top it off, I walked to and from class in a snowstorm and I forgot my hat at work. Damned be my emotions on this bad day. At least, I had a nice chat with one of my students.

So yeah, I’ m taking a few minutes before bed to pour my heart and say goodbye to the coworkers I lost. I know some of them read this blog and I hope you’ll keep reading. To the one who left in a hurry, understandably so, I hope I’ll see you tomorrow when you come to pack your desk. If not, I hope you’ll keep reading this blog and offering up your comments. I’m still available to critic on your novel over a cup of coffee. 😉

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

4 responses to “And then a fifth walked out the door…

  • Phil

    Bon soir, Aheila. Sorry about the trouble at work. Quel dommage. My cousin lost her job last year and is still out of work. It’s pretty scary.
    I’m going to retreat from real life for the weekend and work on a story idea for NaStyRoMo. And I will read your stories, too.
    Bonne chance avec votre écriture!

    • Aheïla

      Took a little bit of French in school? 😀
      Yeah, being without a job is always stressful. I was fired once… a few years ago… for being too dynamic. I still don’t get that one. My manager was pleased with my work but the big boss just didn’t like me. *sigh*
      I started my NaStyRoMo yesterday and it’s moving along quite nicely. I have friends over this weekend so I won’t be concentrating on that but it’ll keep cooking in the back of my mind.
      Good luck with your writing too! ^^

  • Phil

    Oui, quatre ans à lycée…but I’m pretty rusty. I’m sure it shows.
    I’m giving a lot of thought to a NaStyRoMo story, too, should be fun.
    Enjoy the weekend with your friends.

    • Aheïla

      It shows a little but you can still get your point across!
      I just had a crazy idea for NaStyRoMo… I think I’ll right two of them. The official “entry” and a gag reel… To be continued…
      Have a nice weekend too!

Leave a Reply

