Welcome 2013!

Happy New Year everyone!

As promised, with 2013 starting, I’m going back to the roots of this blog. When I created it three years ago, I decided to put more focus on writing, and though 2012 was an amazing year in a lot of ways, it was such a whirlwind I lost track of this primary goal. I guess I needed that to remind myself of a simple truth and anchor it in my mind, never to be forgotten again.

Writing is a key component of my happiness.

Creating is a key component of my happiness.

Interacting with people who share a passion for writing also matters to me more than I realized before I found myself out of time to do so.

So thanks 2012 for the new position at work and the crazy schedule; the trips to San Francisco, Vancouver, Brussels and Puerto Plata, and the travelling hell of canceled flights; the new friendships both in Quebec and elsewhere, and the negative people who taught me about myself and the necessity of letting go; the five requests for partials, two requests for fulls of Oil and Boiling Water, and the three rejection letters; the eighty pounds I lost, and the twenty stress found; and all the good and bad in-between, thrown in there just to spice things up.

And welcome, welcome 2013!

I’m sure you have a few surprises in store for me. I also know you’ll bring health for my body and soul.

How do I know that? Because I’m not giving you a choice! *laughs*

My bosses and I are discussing my work structure to bring back the creative aspect and reduce the number of hours to a normal 40 a week. This means that I’ll have time to train and cook again.

And write.

And interact with people who share a passion for writing (one of them invited me to his wedding in Scotland next September).

But enough about me!

What were the highlights of your 2012? What do you want 2013 to bring you? I’d like to know, because that’s what I wish for each and everyone of you. ;)

And on top of that, I wish you to learn one thing about yourself that’ll make the rest of your years better.

See you tomorrow, dear readers, writers, creators, awesome people, or any combination thereof! ;)

About Aheïla

Somewhere in Quebec City, Aheïla works as a Game Design Director by day and writes by night. Known for her blue hair, unyielding dynamism and tasty cooking (quails, anyone?), she’s convinced “prose is the new crack”. She satisfies her addiction daily on The Writeaholic’s Blog and weekly on Games' Bustles View all posts by Aheïla

6 responses to “Welcome 2013!

  • grmigilber

    Happy New Year to you to Aheïla. To be honest with you, all I wish for 2013 is the opportunity to work in the industry I learned to love.

    Concerning you, It could be awesome to have the possibility to sit next to you and maybe speaking more than 2 minutes. Letting the chance to have a conversation about whatever subjects you like.

    It was great to meet you in 2012.

    Happy New Year to everybody else too.

  • Ryan Derham

    Happy New Year, A! It’s nice to hear you sounding so upbeat. What’s up with those “negative people”??? Looking forward to doing more Drabbles (though you never read mine, lol.) Glad to hear your crazy work schedule will get less crazy soon. :)

    • Aheïla

      Hello Ryan!

      At some point in our life we all meet people who are drowning in problems of their own making. They don’t want help, they don’t really want friends, they want people they can complain to. These are the people I call “negative”. And at some point, even if you want to help, you need to let go before they take you down with them.

      Being super empathic that always gives me a hard time.

      And no fair about the drabbles! I read some and commented! Just not the last few. :P

  • Mulled Vine

    “Writing is a key component of my happiness.”

    Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 790 other followers

